Categories
Conversations Devotions

SuperPower Sunday: Hospitality

Welcome to Superpower Sunday!

This week’s Super-Character skill is Hospitality:

Cheerfully sharing food, shelter, and spiritual refreshment with those God brings into my life.

Character Bookshelf Series, Institute in Basic Youth Conflicts

“Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it.”

Hebrews 13:2

Please Share! In the comments section below, let us know what you learned and tell your success stories from the last week of practicing gentleness. Also, we’d love to read your ideas of how we might exercise hospitality between now and next Superpower Sunday!

7 replies on “SuperPower Sunday: Hospitality”

I love your character challenge. Hospitality is not one of my strengths, however, there is no greater reward than a simple gathering. Just sitting at a table and sharing a meal is a powerful way to share life with others. I am learning to open my home more often, nothing fancy, potluck is always fun and in the end, all people really want is to connect!

Liked by 2 people

So true! Hospitality is not one of my natural inclinations either but God has definitely given me ample opportunity to practice (whether I’ve liked it or not! :D). I think Covid gave me a real opportunity to rest on my laurels in this area and I know I need to get back into the groove.

Liked by 1 person

You are both spot on, Mamalava and Leigh. Even if hospitality isn’t one of our “gifts,” we’re called to exercise it anyway, stretching ourselves a bit, to share Christ’s love with others…by opening our homes, tables, and hearts to others. I’m so eager to do that now, with the pandemic waning in the U.S. Here’s what I wrote about hospitality last year as we were struggling with how to extend hospitality in our homes: https://lightbournecreative.com/2020/05/18/the-privileged-life-hospitality-in-a-viral-world/
I’d just like for my table to look like that beautiful raspberry-laden photo above!! 🙂 Hope you both have a great week ahead…happy Fourth!

Liked by 2 people

I was going to say that there should be a pineapple on that raspberry-laden table – and then I read your post and saw that you’d included that thought 🙂 I am going to practice hospitality this week and I did get a pineapple and blackberries, but alas, no raspberries. 😀 Thank you for sharing your insights!

Like

Leave a comment