Categories
Recommendations

Helpful Little Hack of the Hour: Luggage Notes

My husband used to travel. A lot! With a house full of children, it was difficult enough to connect when he was home. When he was gone half the month, I needed a helpful hack to encourage him with my words.

Luggage Notes

I started hiding little notes in his luggage. My goal was to put them where he would slowly discover them over the days he was away. In his shoe, in a shirt pocket, in his Bible, in his toiletry case…

I tried not to let him see me slipping them in his bags, so he would be surprised. I waited until he had packed and set his suitcases by the door. My window of opportunity was brief, and it was a challenge not to get caught. It became a game that I enjoyed.

3 notecard envelopes
Photo by Karolina Grabowska on Pexels.com
Smaller notecards are easier to hide!

Luggage notes can be brief and silly or long and sentimental. Anything that conveys love is a welcome read for someone missing home. And they are not only great for business trips. They can be hidden in bags packed for camp, going away to college, etc.

Does this helpful little hack of the hour have your wheels turning? Into whose suitcase might you sneak a few luggage notes? Or, if travel isn’t something that occurs in your household, is there a lunchbox, briefcase, purse, or jacket pocket that could hide a heartfelt note for an opportune surprise?

“My goal is that they may be encouraged in heart and united in love, so that they may have the full riches of complete understanding, in order that they may know the mystery of God, namely, Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.”

Colossians 2:2, 3

Wondering why am I publishing these helpful little hacks of the hour? Read the Introduction and Intent post here.

10 replies on “Helpful Little Hack of the Hour: Luggage Notes”

Thank you, friend! I think handwritten notes mean even more today than they did back then. Now it is easy to send a quick text or email
anywhere around the world, so taking the time to handwrite is truly a gift that shows love even before the words are read!

Liked by 1 person

Well, I don’t have anyone to do this with, but Child #4 will be going in to the school at least once a week and she takes a lunch! I’m thinking encouragement and love!!! Thanks, friend, for the idea! It’s been a long time since I did this!

Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment