Categories
Reflections

What Could Possibly Go Wrong? Part 1

“If y’all wanna go, I’ll watch the kids and the dogs!”, I volunteered flippantly and with a big smile. It sounded good. I meant it. What could possibly go wrong?

Yep, I spoke without thinking, as I so often do. I was talking to my daughters and my husband, who were exuberant about a concert that was coming to town. Well, let me be clear. It was coming to the girls’ town. My husband and I live a 12-hour drive away. Still, what could possibly go wrong?

“Without counsel plans fail, but with many advisers, they succeed.”

Proverbs 15:22

The unthought-through-words still hung in the air as I realized I’d just committed myself. The excitement was palpable as the pricey tickets for the two-day event were purchased. It was March, I was in town visiting, and I was on the hook to return in September. Awesome! What could possibly go wrong?

I knew it was a bit hasty, and a lot crazy, to promise something so big without prayer or consideration. I’ve talked to God plenty about it since. But I was excited. I can work from anywhere, my parents live near(ish) to my girls, and have a guestroom with Wi-Fi, so what could possibly go wrong?

Click photo to enlarge and save.

A photo of a rosebush and wall with Proverbs 21:5 overlaid.
I certainly could have been more diligent!

We thought we had a solid plan. My husband and I would take the long Labor Day weekend to drive to California. We would stay with my parents, spend time with them, and work from their home during the week. The following weekend we would stay in a hotel nearer the kids and concert venue. What could possibly go wrong?

My husband would attend the concert with our 3 daughters, and I would watch our grandkids. The dogs, who were puppies at the time of my ‘offer’ had grown enough, as the time neared, to stay alone. My job would be easier than expected! What could possibly go wrong?

“The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps.”

Proverbs 16:9

When someone asks, “What could possibly go wrong?” that many times, you have to know something is about to go very wrong, right? In fact, things went all kinds of wrong! I wouldn’t have believed it if it didn’t actually happen. I’ll start telling you all about it tomorrow!

Click here to subscribe to this blog so you don’t miss a thing!

7 replies on “What Could Possibly Go Wrong? Part 1”

I’m know. I’m sorry! I didn’t mean to when I set out to write, but it was just too long. It ended up being a 3 parter. I am posting the other two tomorrow and Thursday so the wait won’t be long. I hope that makes up for my cliff-hanger ending today. 🫣

Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment