Categories
Emotions Recommendations

Helpful Little Hack of the Hour: Free Love

Some people are easy to love. So this little hack of the hour is not about them. Think of someone you find difficult to be around.

There was someone in my life like that. Let’s call her Ann. I found her to be disrespectful, sneaky, and a bad influence on my kids. And yet she was at my house – a lot.

One day, I was on the phone with my mom when Ann showed up. She walked past me and as soon as she was out of ear shot, I complained. I told my mom how I felt.

I don’t remember her exact words, but they implied that God had brought Ann into my life for a reason. Right now, this moment, was an opportunity. Mom said the best thing I could do in response would be to hang up the phone and freely love on Ann with the love of Jesus, which she desperately needed more than anything.

“Freely you have received; freely give.”

Matthew 10:8b
A heart drawn in a dirty window
Photo by Ugur Tandogan on Pexels.com
Love illumines the light of Jesus where the mess obscures it.

You know what? I was the one who suddenly felt free. I didn’t have to correct Ann’s behavior. It wasn’t even up to me to worry about her attitude affecting my family. God brought her over repeatedly, so those things were His responsibility. He could referee. I was free to love her.

I said “Goodbye” to my mom and hung up the phone. I prayed for forgiveness, grace, and wisdom… for me, and from me. I felt authenticity in the smile that spread across my face as I greeted Ann and gave her a hug. I told her I was happy to see her, and I meant it.

Today’s helpful little hack of the hour is free, no strings attached, love because it is what God tells us to do. In fact, He says it is the greatest thing we can do.

“And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

1 Corinthians 13:13

I will never forget the relief I felt when I realized I don’t have to fix or control the circumstances surrounding people. God does that. I am free to simply show them His love.

“But love your enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back. Then your reward will be great, and you will be children of the Most High, because he is kind to the ungrateful and wicked.”

Luke 6:35

Wondering why am I publishing these helpful little hacks of the hour? Read the Introduction and Intent post here.

26 replies on “Helpful Little Hack of the Hour: Free Love”

Praise Him, Tonya! He brought you to mind when I was posting this and I prayed for you and your family. I’m happy to share something that taught me so it can encourage you!

Like

I often need this kind of reminder when Anita and I start to get in the car! I’ve become better at asking Father to help me, but after a few miles, I tend to forget He has put angels around my car to keep an eye on me! Repeats like this never hurt and sometimes can save a soul.
❤️& 🙏, c.a.

Liked by 2 people

Thank you- but it’s not me! I struggle hard with this. But when I let Jesus love people from inside me, it is beautiful. It is amazing to feel His love radiating from me when I know I could never have mustered it in my own. It’s pretty great to be on the receiving end of it from others too!❣️

Liked by 1 person

It does take practice. I’m working on it too. But imagine what would be different if all God’s kids gave God’s love as freely as they received it! I think it is self-importance which keeps me from generous love and I am not important. My excuse is a lie.

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment