Categories
Vacations

Can Something be “Too Beautiful”? Wrap-Up

We’ve done it! We have arrived at the wrap-up post in this “Too Beautiful” mini-series. We have looked at the skies, rocks, trails, and wonders of Sedona, Arizona.

It is time to decide. Can something be too beautiful? What do you think?

My answer is Yes. And Sedona is a perfect case in point.

Sedona is too beautiful because it stumbles people. People who are looking for God get derailed there. They mistake its grandeur for deity.

Many people worship in Sedona. They meditate, sing, pray, dance, and surrender themselves. But they misplace their awe.

“They exchanged the truth about God for a lie, and worshipped and served created things rather than the Creator – who is for ever praised. Amen.”

Romans 1:25

Sedona boasts temples and worship centers of all kinds. People worship the rocks and the rivers. They offer themselves in devotion to the sun, moon, wind, trees, and all manner of created things.

I think Sedona is too beautiful because many people cannot get past its beauty. They fail to look beyond it to the One who Created it. For them, it is enough in and of itself.

Sedona skyline into the distance
People worship the rock formations, the sky, the earth, and all kinds of created things in Sedona.

There is palpable spirituality in Sedona, but most of it has nothing to do with the Spirit of God. Of course, there are Christians there too. They are people standing for Jesus as lights in a very dark place.

Sedona’s Christians know what you and I know. They are aware that every good gift is given by God. Creation itself attests to God’s glory. It’s beauty is meant to direct our attention to Him, not from Him.

“For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities – his eternal power and divine nature – have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.”

Romans 1:20

And, my friends, as beautiful as Sedona is, it cannot compare to what Heaven will be like. I believe that if people could get one glimpse of where God dwells, and what He has promised to His children, they would never again misplace their worship on the likes of Sedona’s beauty.

A Beautiful Lesson for You and Me

Let’s get honest with ourselves. Do we ever misplace our worship? Stop and think about that before you shake your head and say, “Of course not!”

I caught myself doing it just the other day. It was more subtle than making an altar to a created thing, but it was of the same essence. I woke up, opened the blinds, and said to the pine trees outside, “Good morning, forest! You’re looking beautiful today!”

A few hours later, I saw chipmunks playing for the first time since winter roared in. Although they couldn’t hear me, I said “Welcome back, chipmunks! I’ve missed you and I love you!”

Both times, the Holy Spirit convicted me. I corrected myself. I told God that the forest was beautiful and thanked Him for bringing the chipmunks safely through winter.

“‘You are worthy, our Lord and God,
    to receive glory and honor and power,
for you created all things,
    and by your will they were created
    and have their being.’”

Revelation 4:11

I think Sedona is too beautiful. People stop to worship it instead of looking beyond it to its Creator. But it does provide a great lesson for you and me.

I’ve seen how I am also prone to appreciating created things instead of directing all my praise and thanksgiving to God.

What about you? Do you think something can be too beautiful? Why or why not?

“For in him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through him and for him. He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.”

Colossians 1:16, 17

26 replies on “Can Something be “Too Beautiful”? Wrap-Up”

You are right on target! Sedona is beautiful, but its beauty is marred…lots of those weird stone stacks around there, little “temples” of idolatry that people have set up. I think it’s interesting that you and I have both posted, within a few minutes of each other, about objects of worship. We’re not called to worship images or places but the risen Christ. I believe that God gives us “prompts” with His beautiful creation, views that call us to pull our eyes upward in praise to Him. Sounds like that’s what Sedona did for you!!

Liked by 1 person

Mama, such a beautiful series, from a beautiful place! I understand what you are sharing. I’m convicted when I honor that which is created before honoring the CREATOR! It’s true I feel very close to the Holy Spirit in nature. It’s been that way for me because of less distractions in nature. Jokingly, 3 dear friends (including my twin) want to remake a “moon dance” from a series titled “Firefly Lane” girls. No, I will not worship the moon. No, I do not worship trees or the mountains! Thank you for the sincere and mature aspect of honoring things that are “too beautiful!” You’re a blessing to us! I praise God for the beauty in our world and for friends such as you! 💛💕🙏🏻

Liked by 2 people

You are such a beauty in this world, Karla! Nature is such a good gift from our Heavenly Father, and it is still such a rip off when we lock onto it and fail to look to it’s Creator. I guess without the Holy Spirit, it is harder to discern the difference. That’s why God uses us to speak. I’m thankful for your friendship. ❤

Liked by 1 person

What precious words. Thank you for your kindness and friendship, Mama. I appreciate your wisdom, “without the Holy Spirit, it is harder to discern the difference.” Well-stated! Nature has been a springboard for me to introduce our Creator and Savior to fellow hikers back in my hiking club days. And even now, when I’m with those who might doubt or not know. I do think these beautiful places can offer a platform for propelling our mission in which a “stick and brick” church building is not as welcoming for those that might not feel comfortable going to church. I had so many years of discovery in my walk in which nature became “church” to me (but I never worshipped anything BUT our creator!). Like you said, “Nature is such a good gift from our Heavenly Father…” Amen, sister! I’m so thankful for you! 💛🥰

Liked by 2 people

I love how you’re always thinking about how to use the platform you have- hiking club, blogs, books, and even NET, for pointing people to Christ. You’re a great example!

Like

You’ve brought up an interesting concept. There are place in the Southwest, Sedona included, that attract all sorts of worshipers. I remember when I was young they were called “new wave.” There was a beautiful island in Washington state where they flocked too also. I think they’re missing the fact that these places wouldn’t exist without our Creator.

Liked by 2 people

Amen! It would be like you or I painting a beautiful picture and then having our family and friends thank the picture for its beauty. We would be standing by, scratching our heads, wondering how they could miss the truth, right?
When people don’t believe in God, they still assign deity often times, but they have to misplace it. God wants a relationship with us, He gave us “proof” of His existence and love… and we worship the evidence instead of following it to its rightful conclusion.

Liked by 1 person

Good wrap-up. I see this creation worship often when I meet groups or individuals soloing in the wilderness canoeing. They usually assume you are there for the same reason. Beauty such as Sedona sure brings the emotions into the forefront.

Liked by 2 people

It’s a deception that goes back a long way. Weren’t people worshipping the sun, moon, and stars all the way back in Genesis? It’s a successful game for Satan. But the Holy Spirit helps us discern truth!

Liked by 1 person

All beauty should point back to its Creator! God is beautiful, so His creations are beautiful. How sad that people are still worshipping their own golden calves as of old. Have we learned nothing from history?

Liked by 2 people

We’ll said. I guess new generations of people who haven’t read the Bible are easy prey for the same deceptions. This is why we need to keep sharing the truth and passing it to our kids and grandkids!

Liked by 1 person

Great post! I never considered that anything could be too beauty until you pointed out that those things may be worshipped, great point! There is nothing more beautiful than God and if we ever had a glimpse of heaven, we would never worship any created thing on earth. God bless 🥰

Liked by 2 people

Hi, my friend! I cannot wait to see what God has in store. He has given us so much beauty on earth, but promises Heaven will be infinitely more beautiful. I can’t imagine. What a future to look forward to!

Liked by 1 person

Very thought-provoking writing here, Mama :). It causes me to reflect on how often we humans take refuge in the gifts of God more so than in Him Himself. When His created things become more to us than they should be, not only is worship the issue (although no doubt the most important one), but also, where we look to for comfort and satisfaction.

Liked by 1 person

Good point! I completely agree. A brownie break shouldn’t make me anywhere as happy as a quick time out with Jesus. But if I’m being honest, some days I look forward to the brownie with more enthusiasm. Thank you for your helpful insight, my friend! ❤

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment